Homemade Fro Yo!

I love Frozen Yogurt. Especially Red Mango‘s. Their Original flavor is perfect. I wouldn’t know how else to describe it. Some places have a too tangy taste but theirs is the perfect sweet and tangy balance that it so smooth.

Anyway, after seeing how much whipped cream and condensed milk went into a tub of ice-cream, I decided to check out homemade frozen yogurt recipes and they’re just as easy! Since I don’t own any fancy kitchen appliances (by choice), I did it without an ice-cream maker. See my notes at the bottom of the post.

Vanilla Frozen Yogurt
Taken from 101cookbooks.com

3 cups (720g) strained yogurt (see below) or Greek-style yogurt
3/4 cup (150g) sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

Mix together the yogurt, sugar, and vanilla (if using). Stir until the sugar is completely dissolved. Refrigerate 1 hour.

Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

* To make 1 cup (240g) of strained yogurt, line a mesh strainer with a few layers of cheese cloth. then scrape 16 ounces or 2 cups (480g) of plain whole-milk yogurt into the cheesecloth. Gather the ends and fold them over the yogurt, then refrigerate for at least 6 hours. So, for the above recipe start with and strain 6 cups of yogurt.

Makes about 1 quart.
Notes: 

  • The yogurt you use must be one that you enjoy and like eating.
  • Greek-style yogurt was expensive and I couldn’t find any cheesecloth to try making my own strained yogurt. Since my supermarket sells Labneh (which is cheap), I bought that as it is a strained yogurt and is similar to Greek-style yogurt. It was my first time buying labneh and when I tried it before making the frozen yogurt, I found that it was really nice.
  • I used less sugar than called for in the recipe. I added the sugar gradually until I felt it was sweet enough. I didn’t take note of how much sugar I used though.
  • Besides using labneh (strained yogurt), I also made a tub of my normal plain yogurt that I love. Just wanted to see the end texture and taste of both.
  • Making the frozen yogurt without an ice-cream maker – After mixing the ingredients together (in the container that you wish to freeze the yogurt in) and the sugar has dissolved, place it in the freezer for about 2 hours. Then remove and whip. It will be semi frozen and you just need to make it creamy again. Keep it again in the freezer for another 2 hours and repeat for about 3-4 times until the texture has become like frozen yogurt.
  • It is sooooo, sooooo good. My husband liked the frozen yogurt made with the normal yogurt (unstrained) and I liked the one made with labneh (strained yogurt).
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Fro Yo!

  1. Pingback: Glorious labneh | supergloriousm

Leave a Reply

