Mint Brownies

I love mint and brownies so I thought that I’d make some mint brownies. I used my go-to-brownie recipe to make the brownie part of the recipe, and used mint choc chips for the chocolate ganache layer.

I rarely find mint choc chips sold in the supermarket, so got this tip from Taste of Home – place 2 cups (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips and 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract in a plastic bag; seal and toss to coat. Allow chips to stand for 24-48 hours.

Moving on with the recipe. Line a 9×9 inch pan with foil making sure the foil extends over the edges by at least one inch. Make and bake brownies.

The frosting layers part is taken from make-it-do.

Cool brownies for a few minutes and place in freezer for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, make the first layer of topping.

Mint frosting:
½ c. butter softened
2 Tbsp. milk
2 c. powdered sugar
(I didn’t dump 2 cups in straight. Instead, I added the sugar gradually and stopped when I was happy with the sweetness. I don’t remember the exact amount of sugar I use, but it definitely was less than 2 cups.)
1 tsp. peppermint extract  
(I added 1/2 t more)
green food coloring
(since peppermint extract is clear, you need to use a lot of green coloring to get the green colored layer. I’m not a fan of coloring that much, so my mint layer isn’t green at all.)

Mix thoroughly.  Evenly frost brownies and put back in freezer for 20 minutes. Make chocolate ganache top layer.

Chocolate Ganache Topping:
½ c. butter
1 ½ c. good semi sweet chocolate chips  
(or dark choc. I used mint choc chips)

Melt and whisk together.  (I melt them together in a Pyrex measuring bowl in the microwave for one minute.  Be careful not to overheat.  It won’t look melted but once whisked it is.)  Drizzle warm chocolate over brownies and spread smooth with a spatula.  Put back in freezer for another 20 minutes.


This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipe, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

